top of page

Reaching Your Tipping Point

Do you look in the mirror and ever think that you’ll never look like you did before you had kids? Or into your wardrobe and look sadly at clothes you think you'll never fit into again?


Is the pregnancy weight you hoped to lose years ago is still there….or worse – you did get rid of the pregnancy weight (well most of it) and its crept back on. Maybe it’s not pregnancy weight at all. Maybe that’s just who you are now. This new mum bod.

You wore it like a badge of honour at first. But the novelty has worn off and you’d quite like the old you back…especially now your kids are almost finished primary school…or worse secondary school!

Every year you seem to be getting bigger. You start feeling yourself wobble when you walk the kids to school You can’t wear skirts/dresses without wearing strange garter bands you buy off the Wish app and get posted from China, because your thighs rub. (My husband got excited when he found one such black lacy band haha!)

You start labelling yourself as fat.



Then there comes the tipping point:

Your seven year old prods your belly and asks if there’s a baby inside. (horror!) Or You can no longer fit into your clothes. Or You see a photo of yourself that shocks you, or catch your full length reflection and wonder if your image is being distorted like in a hall of mirrors Or Your doctor tells you that need to lose weight. (Don't they just love to do that!)


This is when you have to choose to do something about it, or do NOTHING. Doing nothing means, accepting it and popping down to Primark to replace your wardrobe (there’s no point in going to fancy shops as these are only temporary clothes until you need to upsize again). You may as well bag up your old clothes and take them down to the charity shop. You aren’t going to see size 12 again.

Or you can do SOMETHING.

Only you are in control of your life. It is a choice. But you have to want, no, NEED to change.

Some ladies out there can do it before they reach their tipping point (although they do tend to fall off the wagon if the going gets tough because their motive isn’t strong enough). I bow down to the self-motivated, proactive mums! I think they must have learnt it from a young age. I bet they have active mums. These are probably the same women that can keep motivated to keep on top of the cleaning.

Me, I need a tipping point! I need it to look like the place has been ransacked. I need Kim and Aggie to be knocking down my door. Nothing gets me more in the mood for change that it getting into a dire state. House, body, mind, it's all the same.

I need to have something to show for my efforts. I want to be able to see the difference (as my reward). I need before and after pictures!


This is represents motivation in this context. The struggle to get motivated for change is real until the tipping point. It is the difference between inertia and momentum. Getting started in the hardest thing. Once you are going it's easier to keep going.

Join my free declutter challenge in my facebook group www.facebook.com/groups/themotiv8dmummy


Enquire about how I can help you lose weight themotiv8dmummy@gmail.com


1 view0 comments
bottom of page